Hawks travel south to Worthing

Henley Hawks travel down to the Sussex coast to take on old rivals, Worthing Raiders for their penultimate away fixture of their 2017/18 season. The side will be desperately hoping to end a wretched run of form which has seen them pick up only one victory from their past seven matches. 

Clashes between the two sides have always been entertaining affairs. The most memorable of these was at the end of the 2013/14 season as both teams challenged for the National 2 South title. Despite losing heavily at Worthing earlier in the season, the Hawks got their revenge in the Championship decider on May 4th in front of a record attendance of over 3,000 people. Scoring eight tries in a resounding 55-27 victory, the Hawks sealed promotion to National 1 with a performance that will live long in the memory of all Hawks supporters that were there that day. 

Three of the players in the Hawks’ squad for tomorrows clash also played in that game, Dave Manning, Dave Clements and Xavier Andre.

The two sides met at Dry Leas last December with the Hawks securing an excellent victory, scoring eight tries in a 43-28 victory. They still have ambitions to finish in the top six in the league, but will need to be at their best to turn recent narrow losses into a much needed win. In an effort to change this run of form, they have shuffled the backs to bring in Joe Butler at fly half in place of Toby Howe and move Connor Hayhow, the scorer of three tries recently to the wing. Will Janes starts at centre after some impressive performances of late whilst Tom Hall comes into the back row and Max Berry is recalled to the bench.

Worthing Raiders vs Henley Hawks - Saturday, April 14th, kick-off 3pm

15. Jack Robinson, 14. Xavier Andre, 13. Liam O’Neill, 12. Will Janes, 11. Connor Hayhow, 10. Joe Butler, 9. George Jackson, 1. Brad Cook, 2. Tom Emery, 3 . Dave Manning, 4. Dave Clements (capt), 5. David Hyde, 6.Tom Hall, 7. Scott White, 8. Marcus Lowe

16. John Wunder, 17. George Primett, 18.Max Berry, 19. Tom Haynes, 20. Ryan O’Neill