Hawks return to league action

Henley Hawks resume their league matches following a week’s rest for the England vs Australia international with an away game against Canterbury tomorrow, K.O 3pm.

They approach this game with some confidence having won their last two games against teams in the top echelons of the league table having defeated an unbeaten Taunton Titans 42-31 (away) and Bury St. Edmunds (home) 27-20.

Canterbury at present are in sixth position above the Hawks who are eighth. This will be a challenging game for them against a side that they have had close games with in the past. In 2014 the Hawks won a very tight game 30-29 after being 26-0 down in the first quarter of the match. We scored the winning try from a driving maul in the last minutes through flanker Tom Hall. Last season, also at Canterbury, we lost 51-17 after being 10 points in the first few minutes of a match, which was their biggest defeat of the season. The only player to get any satisfaction at all in this game was No. 8 David Hyde who scored a brace of tries.

The Hawks travel with a re-arranged front row from the game with Bury. Brad Cook starts at loose head prop, Tom Emery as hooker and George Primett at tight head. The only other change in the  pack is in the back row where Matthew Tibbatts takes over from Marcus Lowe at No.8.

The backs are also re-shuffled, as centre Alan Awcock is not available. Liam O’Neil moves up from full back to take his place. Full back will be Jack Robinson, a position he is familiar with. His place on the wing is taken by Sam Portland who has recovered from injury. The Hawks will field a strong bench with John Wunder and Joe Morris who started in the front row against Bury and Marcus Lowe a regular at No.8 covering the back row.

Canterbury vs Henley Hawks

1. Brad Cook, 2. Tom Emery, 3. George Primett, 4. Dave Clements, 5. Jake Albon (capt.), 6. David Hyde, 7. Rob Bell, 8. Mattew Tibbatts

9. George Jackson, 10. Joe Butler, 11. Sam Portland, 12. Simon Perry, 13. Liam O’Neill, 14. Xavier Andre, 15. Jack Robinson


16. Joe Morris, 17. John Wunder, 18. Marcus Lowe, 19. Tom Haynes, 20. Will Janes