Redruth return to Dry Leas for hotly anticipated encounter

The Hawks take on Redruth this Saturday on their return to Dry Leas having recorded their biggest win of the season at Wimbledon, 55-26 last weekend. Henley go into the contest on the back of three wins and a draw from their past four matches, so will undoubtedly be high on confidence against a side who themselves will be buoyed following their 36-3 thumping of Clifton last Saturday. 

There has been a history of close results between the Hawks and the Reds over the years. The most significant being Henley's 26-15 victory over Redruth whilst on an Easter Tour in the 70's, their victory made headline news in the Duchy media at the time.

Since the introduction of professional rugby, Redruth’s position of being one the grounds with the biggest crowd capacities outside Twickenham has certainly changed, for in 1993 the South West Counties defeated the All Blacks 32-26 before an attendance of 25,OOO. 

Since the leagues were fully introduced, results in games between the Reds and the Hawks have usually gone in favour of the home sides. The last game was on the final Saturday of last season when the Hawks ran out winners, Dry Leas.

At present, Redruth have the edge in league positions lying 6th to the Hawk’s 8th so this promises to be another close contest between two evenly matched sides. 

The Hawks are now beginning to be able to field regular sides. The back division is unchanged but there are, however, three changes in the forwards. Joe Morris moves from the bench, after a successful debut at prop, as replacement for George Primett. The back row shows two alterations. Rob Bell is unavailable but Scott White, who has being good form, comes in at 7, and Marcus Lowe is replaced at No. 8 by Matthew Tibbatts, who changes places with him.

This game should attract a good crowd expecting an exciting encounter with free flowing rugby.


1. Brad Cook, 2. Tom Emery, 3. Joe Morris, 4 Dave Clements, 5. Jake Albon (capt.), 6. David Hyde, 7. Scott White, 8. Matthew Tibbatts, 9. George Jackson, 10. Joe Butler, 11. Sam Portland, 12. Simon Perry, 13. Alan Awcock, 14. Xavier Andre, 15. Liam O'Neill

Replacements: 16. John Wunder, 17. Ian Stock, 18. Marcus Lowe, 19. Will Janes, 20. Harry Burn, 21. Tommy Haynes